Top 5 IT Certifications and How To Acquire Them

December 26th, 2013 | by RS
Top 5 IT Certifications and How To Acquire Them

Top 5 In-demand IT Certifications of 2014 And How To Get Them

The importance of getting the best IT certifications is to get a better position in a company and to get a high salary. No doubt, all IT certifications can be helpful for your career, however, only some selected IT credentials can boost up your pay significantly.

The following lis is finalized by and is considered Top IT and business certifications of the 2014 that have proven to help individuals achieve a higher salary. We have also mentioned the eligibility criteria for pursuing each certification.

PMP: Project Management Professional

The Project management professional (PMP) certification of the Project management institute is always on a high demand in every IT organization and companies that operate on the basis of projects. Talented Project management professionals have made a fortune for years. Therefore, opting for this IT certification will be a very wise move for you.

The eligibility criteria for the Project management professional (PMP) certification

  • A high school diploma
  • A minimum of 35 hours of education related to project management
  • A work experience of 5 years in project management
  • At least 7,500 hours spent in leading and directing projects


  • A four-year degree
  • A minimum of 35 hours of education related to project management
  • At least three years of experience in project management
  • 4,500 hours spent in leading and directing projects

CISSP: Certified Information Systems Security Professional 

The increasing rate of cyber attacks in the recent times has lead to a high demand of talented security professionals in the IT department. Hence, holding a CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional) certification is a perfect gateway for a highly paid job in 2014.

Eligibility criteria for the CISSP or certified systems security professional:

For this certification a minimum work experience of 5 years in two or more of these domains is necessary:

  • Access control
  • Information security governance
  • Regulations, legal, investigations and compliance
  • Security design and architecture
  • Cryptography
  • Disaster recovery planning and business continuity
  • Network and telecommunications security
  • Physical security
  • Security in software development
  • Security operations

Information Technology Infrastructure Library Expert Level (ITILv3)

Eligibility criteria:

You are first required to take an ITIL certification such as the ones under ITIL v1 and v2 in order to be an eligible candidate for ITILv3.

Cisco Certified Design Associate (CCDA)

Eligibility criteria:

Candidates must have a Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) and Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) certifications
Moreover, the student should also take a training program called the Designing for Cisco Internetwork Solutions

VMware Certified Professional (VCP)

Eligibility criteria:

The person must take a training course and also have a job experience of 6 months with VMware infrastructure technologies.

Last but not the least, most of the time candidates working for several organizations see their colleagues with similar backgrounds and experience earning more, as they hold any of the aforementioned certifications. With these, you will be able to enjoy endless opportunities that will facilitate you to a better and progressive career.